Feeling like a fraud.

I’ve done it. I’ve had a few stories accepted by editors who like them. I’ve been asked to do two readings this year. Things are going well. So why do I feel like a fraud?

I can’t quite put my finger on why, but I do. Perhaps because now I have to keep going, prove that this wasn’t a blip, that I can continue to do this, and do it better each time. At least, I hope I can do it better. But there’s this gnawing sense of doubt. And I know I musn’t listen, musn’t let it win. But… what if this was all a fluke? What if, in fact, the readers don’t like my words and the images they conjure? What if I can’t do it again? Will they see through me? Am I a real writer, or am I just making it up as I go along?

But that, of course, is what a writer does. Which is sort of comforting. I’ll just have to keep going, and find out along the way.

6 thoughts on “Feeling like a fraud.”

  1. Well done! First of all, it is normal to feel a fraud as an author. One of the most helpful things I read was in a Natalie Goldberg book, Wild Mind. She says you have to give yourself Permission to be a writer or a poet, or let someone else, another writer maybe, give you that permission to declare yourself as such. Many of us have other jobs and get more recognition for those. There is an unfair assumption that anyone could write, if they had time. As we know, that is cobblers.
    Go on, give your self permission. I dare you!

  2. It’s the shift I suspect from at home, at the desk, studying, working…oh and writing and then en voila…your hard work comes to fruition. Suddenly you are exposed to realityville via your imagination. You’ll have fans and 1 or 2 odd sods as well! xx

  3. I know what you mean. I don’t understand why people seem to like my silly little stories and am convinced that nobody else enters the competitions I win!

Comments are closed.