A foozling sort of few days

I have a dilemma. And it’s all my own fault. The story that I’m trying – and the emphasis is definitely on trying – to partly re-write/edit/not butcher, has a section that reads like a bad 80s pop video, circa 1983. Think Adam Ant, and lip gloss. This is the story that is on its 8th life. And it is the 80s section that needs most work.( Oh yes, and the ending.)  Now the thing is, I know how to fix it. It’s just actually fixing it. I know what needs to change, and where the changes need to go, more or less. It’s the writing of it that is driving me around the bend. I’ve spent all this month, and most of last month, thinking about this – it takes a few weeks for things to sift through in my head; the breakthrough only arrived properly last Wednesday night, if I recall. And I’ve grasped the edges of it, and have begun to draw the cloth of it towards me, reaching into the middle to change the pattern. So why isn’t it happening?! I’ve done the procrastination thing. I’ve done the housework – most of it anyway. I’ve baked, I’ve cooked, I’ve roasted. I’ve finished reading another two books. (The City And The City, Miéville, and We Are All Made Of Glue, Lewycka – both thoroughly enjoyable.) I’ve got to the point where even contemplating blogging has become a new prevarication. Hence the lack of a new entry up until now. I’ve tweaked things in the story, tightening phrases, cutting extraneous details that add little to the overall effect. But how do I go from 80s pop video to something sleeker, deadlier, darker? I can feel it. I can see it. I just can’t seem to bloody well DO it. Grrr.

3 thoughts on “A foozling sort of few days”

  1. I always do my best thinking when ironing.
    Actually i do all my thinking when ironing.
    How about Firestarter from The Prodg- go for the dark side of the 90’s instead.

Comments are closed.