Beginnings and Endings

Things have been a little slow here lately, largely owing to the ongoing battle with my own head. A combination of stress and poor sleep has culminated in a rather ugly migraine, which is still doing its best to linger. I am winning however, and damn me if I don’t prevail!

Before my head started doing its best to beat me up, I managed to finish my little unexpected foray into the genre of Horror. It still needs a proper title, and a major editorial overhaul at a later stage, but it was jolly good fun to write. I’ve shown it to a couple of people – and even though horror isn’t their thing, either – they loved it. This one might have legs…

I will be reworking the story that is currently on its 8th life, as soon as the new printer cartridge arrives. This one needs editing on the page in order to be effectively rewritten. And of course, the play-list will need reviving too; I’ll be listening to a lot of Muse, later this week; I need to, to get the right feeling for the Main Character. She’s a whole year old, born of listening to Muse after seeing The Watchmen at the cinema, last February. And recently I changed her name, just a little. The prospect of revisiting her, and her first story, makes me rather happy.

What else? I finally finished reading The Pregnant Widow. I have to say that I quite liked it. Bits of it – chunks of it – I found quite puerile. But then to take the meaning literally, perhaps that is Amis’ intent? Of course, I have not the experience of having been a confused young man trying to get laid – and more – during the sexual revolution; given that this is sold as an autobiographical novel, then I pity the poor sod. I seriously doubt that to have been his intent however. And the rest of it? Once into the swing of it, I rather enjoyed the reading of it. Interesting, thought provoking, even at times, arresting. I can’t say that I’m inclined to rush out and read his back-list though; too many books, too little time! So what will it be next? China Miéville’s The City and The City? Or Marina Lewycka’s We Are All Made of Glue? Or perhaps a change of pace, another foray into historical biography? Decisions…

Another thing which makes me inordinately happy is that the apple tree is about to firework into blossom – gloriously heady scented white blossom, and then the aquilegias will be out, and the wisteria will acquire fatly swelling buds, and then it all rushes together, this lovely season we call Spring.

2 thoughts on “Beginnings and Endings”

  1. I had mixed feelings about The Pregnant Widow too. I think on the whole I found it convincingly honest – perhaps because I was comparing it to Amis’ first novel, The Rachel Papers – which is sort of about the same thing but written when he was very much younger. I was amused, reading an article in the Telegraph I think, that Tamsin Day Lewis thought (apparently without having read the novel) that one of the female characters may have been based on her, since she did have a fling with Amis. I’m not sure that any woman would want to lay claim to any of them…

    Sorry about the migraine, and well done with the horror story. I recently had a go at a gjost/possession kind of story and I’m still not sure about it – but it is fun to occasionally sneak into uncomfortable genres.

  2. Good to hear you’re happy – but sorry to hear about the migraine – there’s not much worse (and this from the man who’s not been able to eat chocolate or cheese for the past god knows how many years).

    Nik X

Comments are closed.